All walkthroughs

Adding people and setting roles

Adding people

Primary owners, owners, and admins can add people to the account. To add a new person to your Equals account, go to the “People” page of your account. At the top of this page, you’ll see a button that says “+ Add People”.

Add people cta

Once you click on this, you’ll be asked to add some information about the person you wish to add. We’ll need to know their name, email address and you’ll need to assign them an account role.

Add person screen 1

Assign a role

Primary Owner

  • Every company account must have one active Primary Owner
  • The Primary Owner cannot be deactivated
  • This role can only be transferred to another active Owner by the current Primary Owner

Owner

  • Owners have full view and edit access to all features
  • Can manage Account settings, including enabling or disabling features

Admin

  • Admins have view and edit access to all platform features
  • They can view but not edit Account settings

Payer

  • Payers can add recipients and make payments
  • They do not have access to Account settings or permissions

Viewer

  • Viewers have view-only access to all areas of the platform (except Account settings)
  • They cannot make changes or transactions

Accountant

  • Accountants have view and edit access to:
    Spending activity, including statements and transactions
    Annotations and Integrations in Account settings
    You can assign one of the following roles:
  • They cannot be issued an Individual card

User

  • Users can be assigned to an Individual card
  • They have no access to account-level features
  • They cannot make payments

Role structure suggestion

Here’s how many of our customers typically assign roles within their teams:

  • Owner: High-level executives or C-suite leaders
  • Admin: Senior finance staff
  • Payer: Finance or Payments team members
  • Viewer: Consultants or finance staff responsible for reporting
  • Accountant: A third party accountant
  • User: Individual contributors who need to use cards for spending

You should assign roles in a way that best suits your business. You do not need to use all the roles, you can pick and choose what works for your team.

Roles and permissions

Account roles and the permissions each one holds
PermissionPrimary ownerOwnerAdminViewerPayerUserAccountant
Can have their access deactivated
Can allocate another Owner to become the Primary owner
View people
Add new people
Manage existing people (i.e edit account roles, deactivate people)
Can set-up & manage Xero integration
Can create new Balances
View all transactionsTheir own
Can annotate all card transactionsTheir ownTheir ownTheir own
Can manage annotation categories & settings
Can have their own Individual card
View all Shared cards
View Shared card full details
Create new Shared cards
Create spending limits on Shared cards
View all Individual cardsTheir ownTheir ownNot applicable
Create new Individual cards
View Individual card full details & PINTheir ownTheir ownTheir ownTheir ownTheir ownTheir ownNot applicable
Create spending limits on Individual cards
Block ATM access on cards
Can add recipients
Can create orders (outbound wire payments, exchange etc.)

Account role quiz

Use this quiz to help work out the best account role for team members you are adding.

Question 1 of 6

Will this person need to add recipients and make payments (e.g. wire payments, exchanges)?

Send an invite

After choosing a role for the person you're adding, you can decide whether to send the invitation immediately, or wait and send it later.

In most cases, it’s easiest to invite your team member as soon as you add their details. However, you may prefer to delay the invite, for example, until you're onboarding them in person.

On the next screen, you can choose to enter extra information about the person you’re adding:

  • Job title
  • Employee number
  • Work phone number

These details are optional but can help you and your team easily identify users in your account.

Two-factor authentication

For added security, a two-factor authentication (2FA) check is required whenever someone is added to the account. You’ll be asked to enter a verification code that we’ll send to your registered mobile number.

How to send the invite later

If you choose to invite them later:

  1. Go to the People page
  2. Select their profile
  3. Click “Send invite”

The invite email

Your team member will receive an email with the subject line: “You’ve been invited to Equals”

This email includes a link to:

  • Set up their password
  • Log in and access your account

⚠️ Important:
They must use this email to set up their password. This is the only way they can activate their account and get started. The link will expire in two weeks. If they do not use it in this time, you will need to send them a new link.

Ready to get started?

Open an account today and put this guide to use right away.